Rhode Island SPCA

We speak for those who cannot speak for themselves

Online Resources about Careers with Animals

We often get asked about careers with animals, and where to get started. So we’ve put together a list of resources that might be of use.

Getting Started – What Can I Do?

Careers for Creature Lovers PDF http://www.bls.gov/opub/ooq/2006/winter/art01.pdf

55 Great Careers Working with Animals http://www.uvisor.com/55-great-careers-working-animals/

5 Great Jobs with Pet Animals http://www.bankrate.com/finance/personal-finance/5-great-pet-jobs-for-animal-lovers-1.aspx

About.Com really comprehensive list of animal careers http://animalcareers.about.com/od/Careers/a/Animal-Career-List.htm

ASPCA Overview of Careers with Animals http://www.aspca.org/about-us/faq/animal-careers

Cornell Veterinary Careers overview http://animalcareers.cornell.edu/careers/VetCareers.pdf

Careers in Animal Training and Enrichment https://www.animaledu.com/Careers/AnimalTrainingEnrichmentCareers.aspx

Careers in Animal Behavior http://www.indiana.edu/~animal/resources/careers.php

Careers in Animal Assisted Therapy, Education and Activities https://www.animaledu.com/Careers/AnimalAssistedTherapyCareers.aspx

Zoo and Aquarium Science Careers https://www.animaledu.com/Careers/ZooAquariumScienceCareers.aspx

Careers with Marine Mammals http://www.imata.org/become_a_trainer

Wildlife Rehabilitation Careers https://www.animaledu.com/Careers/WildlifeRehabilitationCareers.aspx

Cornell Wildlife Careers overview http://animalcareers.cornell.edu/careers/WildlifeCareers.pdf

Careers in AZA-Accredited Zoos and Aquariums http://www.aza.org/careers-zoos-aquariums/

Laboratory Animal Science & Enrichment https://www.animaledu.com/Careers/LaboratoryAnimalBehaviorCareers.aspx

Cornell Lab Animal Science Careers http://animalcareers.cornell.edu/careers/Careers_LabAnimalScience.pdf

Cornell Animal Careers list with info http://animalcareers.cornell.edu/list_careersby.php?col=title

10 Jobs that Let You Work with Animals http://jobs.aol.com/articles/2009/01/26/10-jobs-that-let-you-work-with-animals/

HSUS Careers with Animals http://www.humanesociety.org/animal_community/careers/

Animal Related Careers http://www.anapsid.org/resources/jobs.html‎

Animal Nursery Worker http://www.insidejobs.com/careers/animal-nursery-worker

Resources

Humane Society University http://humanesocietyuniversity.org/careers/

Professional Associations for animal-related professions http://abi.allsquared.com/Careers/ProfessionalAssociations.aspx

A cool overview of Animal Assisted Therapy, with references in the last slide http://prezi.com/hn2aupn8tlrs/animal-assisted-child-psychology/

Association of Professional Dog Trainers http://www.apdt.com/

National Association of Pet Sitters http://www.petsitters.org

National Wildlife Rehabilitators Association http://www.nwrawildlife.org

American Association of Zoo Keepers http://www.aazk.org

International Marine Animal Trainers’ Association http://www.imata.org

North American Veterinary Technician Association http://www.navta.org

Animal Science and Agricultural Careers Resources PDF http://www.careerhelp.umn.edu/PDFs/Major%20Resource%20Lists/ansciresources.pdf

Education

Animal Behavior Institute https://www.animaledu.com/Programs.aspx

Education Programs for Careers in AZA Zoos and Aquariums

http://www.aza.org/animal-care-education-programs/

American Association for Laboratory Animal Science http://www.aalas.org/resources/careers.aspx

American Veterinary Medical Association Education Programs https://www.avma.org/Search/results.aspx?k=education%20programs

Internships

Intern Match Animal Care Internships  http://www.internmatch.com/s/animal-care-internships

Animal Behavior Institute Internship Leads https://www.animaledu.com/Careers/InternshipOpportunities.aspx

Animal Legal Defense Fund http://aldf.org/resources/animal-law-events-opportunities/clerkships-internships-fellowships/

Degree Jungle’s Guide to College Internships offers some tips on what to look for and how to snag the ideal internship. But don’t wait until college. The earlier you start this process, the earlier you will hone what you may or may not want to do, and what skill sets you need to develop. http://www.degreejungle.com/edu/guide-to-college-internships/

Jobs

Humane Society of the US Job Search http://www.animalsheltering.org/jobs/

ASPCA Job Postings http://www.aspca.org/about-us/aspca-jobs

Best Friends Animal Society (Utah) Job Listings http://bestfriends.org/current-job-openings/

Association of Zoos and Aquariums Job Listings http://www.aza.org/joblistings/

FlexJobs Telecommuting Animal Jobs http://www.flexjobs.com/jobs/telecommuting-animal-jobs

 

Books (Not on the Internet but useful resources – available at libraries)

Shorto, Russell. 1992. Careers for Animal Lovers. Choices: The Millbrook Press: Brookfield, Connecticut.

Hurwitz, Jane. 1997. The World of Work: Choosing a Career in Animal Care. The Rosen Publishing Group, Inc.: New York, New York.

Miller, Louise. 1991. Careers for Animal Lovers & Other Zoological Types. VGM Career Horizons, a division NTC Publishing: Lincoln, Illinois.

Barber, Kim. 1996. Career Success with Pets. Howell Book House, A Simon & Schuster/Macmillan Company: New York, New York.

Sirch, Willow Ann. 2000. Careers with Animals, The Humane Society of the United States. Fulcrum Publishing: Golden, Colorado.